Cry of the Kiwi: A Family’s New Zealand Adventure Series

Click on the book cover images below for more information, excerpts, and buy links. All books are available in print and e-book formats. Each book contains more than forty photographs, a map, glossary, index, sidebars of additional information, and references.


Filled with true travel adventures, the Cry of the Kiwi: A Family’s New Zealand Adventure series recounts one home schooling family’s travel, education, and scientific research as part of a ten-month sojourn in New Zealand, one of the most beautiful countries and best places to travel with kids in the world. A fresh offering in New Zealand travel books, the Cry of the Kiwi series is chock full of travel ideas and all things Kiwi. In the series, you will:

  • explore New Zealand’s spectacular landscapes with an award-winning nature writer
  • escape into more than eighty outdoor adventures, including wildlife research aimed at helping endangered kiwi birds
  • learn intriguing ecological and historical facts about the last large land mass to be populated by humans
  • delve into Kiwi culture as experienced by a Canadian home schooling family

Interview with the author:

Q. What makes your Cry of the Kiwi: A Family’s New Zealand Adventure series so special?

A. It completely immerses you in my family’s experiences during our ten months in New Zealand, making you feel like you’re right there with us as our adventures unfold.

Q. What are the main topics you cover in the series?

A. South Island and North Island travel, outdoor adventures, history, culture, geography, ecology, and adapting to daily life in a new country.

Q. Must I read the books in a certain order?

A. No. I wrote each book so it can be read as a stand-alone. However, to get the most from the series, I suggest you start with Book 1 and then read Book 2 and Book 3.

Q. Which book in the series is your favorite?

A. Each book has its own persona and strengths. Book 1, set on South Island, explores history, our early adventures, and how my family adapts to life in a new country. Book 2 features scientific research and North Island adventures. Book 3 highlights more South Island adventures and delves deeper into family dynamics and bonding.

Q. Are the books for kids or adults?

A. Both. As a homeschooling parent, I read books aloud to my kids, even in their teens. I wrote these books to be enjoyed by older children, teens, and adults. They’re the kind of books I would have read aloud to my kids.

New! The ebook version of the complete Cry of the Kiwi series is now available! Click on the cover for details.